Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Colorists and Writers! Well, one of each…

Meet Andrea Toussaint. No wait, go back, start over in a Rod Serling voice. Meet Andrea Toussaint. Much better.

NAME :  Andrea
FAVORITE NICKNAME  :  Andy the painter and yes, I spell it with a “y” you got a problem with that?
FAVORITE COMIC ARTIST :  The man who invented the green sheet from the Sentinel when it was JUST the Sentinel.
FAVORITE COMIC STRIP ONOMATOPOEIA  :  I have killed too many brain cells from being around sealer & polyurethane to even know what “Onomatopoeia” means.
FAVORITE SUPERHERO  : The Green Lantern, now there is a guy who could punch you in the throat and take care of some business!
LIKES  : Chocolate chip cookies, warm fuzzy socks & Blues dancing in Chicago.
DISLIKES  :  People who don’t use their turn signals, tall people who stand right in front of me & stinky paint.
TURN ONS :
TURN OFFS
WHY DID YOU GET INTO THEATER : Because when I went to college, I didn’t know what else to do.

WHAT’S YOUR PIPE-DREAM JOB? : To make a living at my art, make my own schedule AND pay all my bills.  Anyone want to be my benefactor?

WHAT DO YOU THINK WILL HAPPEN WITH THIS PROJECT ON APRIL 16?  :  I am pretty sure I will accidentally step into a full bucket of paint and have to go home with a squishy shoe.  ew.

Andrea declined to answer “cake or death.”

Ahem.

Our next and appropriately lengthy response comes from writer Jackie Steffen-Bublitz.

NAME – Jackie Steffen-Bublitz

FAVORITE NICKNAME – Jack

FAVORITE COMIC ARTIST – Ashley Wood, Lar DeSouza, Skottie Young, Mike Mignola, just to keep the list short and sweet…

FAVORITE COMIC STRIP ONOMATOPOEIA – While it’s not from a comic, I really enjoy the onomatopoeia “skidoosh” that was coined in Kung Fu Panda. It’s typically used to convey an Epic Win from an unlikely victor, but I find that “skidoosh” is a multi-faceted onomatopoeia that can be used in nearly every situation.
“I just finished the dishes. Skidoosh!”
“I’ll have another round of drinks! Skidoosh!”
“I find your taste in movies to be appalling, at best. Skidoosh!”

FAVORITE SUPERHERO – The Tick

LIKES – I like pretty pictures and word bubbles and books and sarcasm, mostly. Imagination and story-telling are pretty awesome, too!

DISLIKES – Working for The Man.

TURN ONS – The smell of old books and balmy weather. Nostalgia’s pretty sexy, too.

TURN OFFS – Selfless heroes.

WHY DID YOU GET INTO COMICS?
I’ve always been influenced by and fascinated with the art of storytelling and communication. Whether its folklore and fairy tales from around the world, comics, body language or little white lies, I love trying to read the messages that people convey to the world around them.

My decision to be a visual artist was made with a hefty amount of frivolity. I liked a boy on the internet and decided to go to college in the same state that he lived in, and that college ended up being the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design (since I could “draw good n stuff”). Predictably, that relationship didn’t last very long, but I still gained a huge amount of knowledge and appreciation for the visual arts from MIAD, in addition to a solid network of artistic friends and colleagues. Two years later, I met the love of my life (who is smarter, funnier, and FAR better looking than the boy I moved out here for… karma is awesome), and have been causing shenanigans with him ever since.

WHAT’S YOUR PIPE-DREAM JOB?

Owning and operating the successful business that is Lovesick Robot Studios (http://www.lovesickrobot.org)

. Owning and operating? Check. Successful? In-progress.

WHAT DO YOU THINK IS GOING TO HAPPEN WITH THIS PROJECT ON APRIL 16?

It’s gonna be petty sweet. People are going to walk in on us working and say “Damn, that’s pretty awesome,” and they’ll be inspired to go forth and do their own Awesome Thing.

CAKE OR DEATH?
What kind of cake are we talking about here? I’m not dying for some lemon cream bullsh, or anything like that. You get me a nice German Chocolate cake or a really fine cheesecake, and we’ll talk.

Leave a Reply

