Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Embarrassment of riches

I don’t like to complain about work. I do freelance work that lets me do projects like Motionary Comics or The Heart of a Dog. Sometimes things dovetail perfectly, sometimes they overlap uncomfortably, but I’m the one that chose to say yes or no to a job. So while I might get overwhelmed by work from time to time (now is one of those times), nobody backed into that corner but me.

My wife works similarly. One of the upsides of this particular life-choice is that we occasionally get to travel together to places like the Adriatic Coast in January. Or to visit friends in Prague. Or I get to take two weeks off and go to the Minnesota Fringe Festival.

One of the downsides is that sometimes we don’t work for months at a time. One of the upsides of not working is that we get to see a lot of one another.

One of the downsides of working a lot is that we don’t get to see quite as much of one another.

She was in Minnesota for three weeks, just got back recently. She’s doing a lot of work in Chicago right now, and last night she got a call at 11pm. Unexpectedly, she’s now flying on her way to Louisiana to do some documentary-style research on the BP oil spill that’s threatening coastlines from Florida to New Orleans.

It’s not that I don’t like working, and being able to pay for the bills and the projects. But I do look forward to seeing her again at a time when we’re not so fortunate as to be working.

One response

  1. Ben and I have been self-employed now for about, oh, forever. We’re always stressed-out when we’re not stressed-out about work, because that means we’re not bringing in money. Then when the work comes it’s all work, work, work because you never know when it’s going to stop, and we’ll be back to worrying about not working. Jumbley, I know, but you get my gist.

    May 5, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

