Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Post-Impressions-ism

I don’t know if I’m going to make it to any Serious Museums while we’re here.

I’m okay with this.

I’d love to make it to the Van Gogh, and the Rijksmuseum comes highly recommended, and the Van Gogh Museum is by Vondel Park, and I want to go there as well. Honestly, in lots of ways I’d rather walk around green space on some days. We’ll see if it’s cold outside, that might drive me in to a warm museum.

I don’t expect this to be the last time I’m in Amsterdam, so I’m in no more hurry to visit a museum than I ever have been to see Liberty Island while in New York City. Point of fact: I’ve been to Ellis Island, never to Liberty. The museums also function as their own filter, just like the Red Light District. I could go to Paris and not go to the Louvre, or to Madrid and not to the Prado. There are a million things to see in a city.

We hit an Indonesian place for dinner last night for the rice-table (leave by 8pm, get 25% off – score) and wandered through the Red Light District on our way back to the flat. The prostitutes in the doors looked BO-RED. Especially the one on her cell phone and the one with a curling iron (Lisa double-checked – it really was a curling iron). Much more interesting that the RLD for its content was the RLD for its patrons. Lots of people like us who were walking through checking out the black-light-red-neon combination (note to lighting designers: probably not worth the effort), only slightly fewer in number who were there for the coffeeshops, and a small minority who were actually looking to “get laid.” I use scare quotes because it really doesn’t seem like much more than masturbating into another person. And on a side note to any RLD marketing folks out there – if I were to patronize your establishment, I’m less likely to go to one labeled “discount.” Just sayin’.

On this trip, at least, I’d rather wander around and look at the world and the people in it. I’m having a grand time watching the occasional movie with Lisa (who is not watching occasional movies, but establishing residency in certain cinemas). I’m spending a lot of time writing. I’m relaxing. That’s not a euphemism for smoking, either. I hope to get a shave and a haircut (what’s the exchange rate on two bits?) later today based on a recommendation from Mitch.

If I make it to Vondel tomorrow and I’m near Van Gogh, I’ll probably go in. In the meantime, I’ll keep collecting reveries and bits of trivia. Yesterday’s connected bits: the Dutch are, on average, the tallest people in the world. Personal observation suggests this is the case, our building manager confirms (“It’s a fact – you can look it up.”) Related: Dutch urinals require, for some folks, just a bit more arc than they’re used to.

Leave a Reply

