Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Block Print

“Proceeding apace” is not how I would describe my writing at this particular time.

I managed to continue editing act I of the novel throughout Motionary Comics and finally wrapped up the work on this most recent pass on Monday. However, I don’t want to keep working on this one until I get a little feedback from my first readers, and they’re all busy. One of them is putting up a show and painting robots (!!!), one of them is making a feature-length documentary (!!!), and one of them is moving back to the United States (!!!). They’ve all got stuff on their plates.

During my break between the first novel (book 3 in the series) and the second (book 4), I drafted a screenplay, and I sort of thought I’d do that again this time. Instead I did a polish on an existing screenplay (one day’s work, yawn), and now find myself in the middle – knowing I should be outlining so that I’m ready for the next round of writing. That next round could be more on book 4, it could be another screenplay. But the fact is, without putting a little bit of thought into the whole process, I’m not going to get very far.

I’m not sure if it’s being tired that’s stalling me out – Motionary Comics, staying out too late on Wednesday seeing TJ and Dave at iO – or maybe I just need a palate cleanser, which would explain this week’s YA buying binge (The Hunger Games, Bones of Faerie, White Cat, Incarceron). After all, last time I felt this way, a month ago, I plowed through Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, Pretties, and Specials.

It’s not writer’s block per se. More like muscle fatigue. Could be reading is what I need more than anything else.

Meantime, here’s my review of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games at GoodReads.

Leave a Reply

