Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Friday Wrap.

Got a lot of work done this week, but very little of it was of the paying sort. Enough to keep me in Chicago, certainly, but not enough for a round of huzzahs. Really, though, this is more about what I did get done.

One beta reader finished A Watchful Eye‘s current draft. No criticisms, lots of enthusiasm and praise. Thanks, Mom!

The gutting of Manuscript #2 continues. First 48 pages sent off to beta reader for a test-drive. Does it make sense? Can you tell who the main character is? Etcetera and so on. Since then, I’ve made another 21 pages – this is less impressive than it sounds, because I’m hardly doing any original composition – I’m re-ordering and re-structuring lots of already-written stuff. I have to write one solid scene right now, then I can step back into Concatenation Mode and leap ahead a magical 6 pages. It will be magical. Then I’ll do what I did with those first 48 pages, which is go over them two to three times, reading for continuity, sense, typos. And I’ll probably have to make a lot of changes. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

I think I discovered a character that needs to appear in this book that I hadn’t considered before. Damn it? Hooray? I’m not sure.

I’m going to try and wrap my head around another Query Letter for AWE over the weekend, looking to post it next week.

Other writing: I’m trying to get into the habit of writing some reviews (not that this will be a review site – too much unpaid work already) and posting them over at GoodReads. So with the end of Harry Potter comes the beginning of The Hunger Games (click for the fancy motion poster).

Here are my reviews:

1) The Hunger Games

2) Catching Fire

3) Mockingjay

4 responses

  1. Mitya

    What is the logic behind such heavy “editing” while you’re actually generating raw material? Two steps forward, one step back. Why not power ahead with exposition/description and go back and rework once you’ve got more down? Not a criticism, just curious about your approach. Please note for the record my immense respect and envy at what you’re doing? Wish I had the ideas and the discipline (or even just one of the two).

    July 22, 2011 at 7:52 am

    • Because the way I tell the story influences where the story goes. I already have a good outline of the action. This has already undergone regular revision as new discoveries or complications arise – for example, I can’t just have a character do Thing A because that advances the plot. If it doesn’t make sense for her to do that, she has to do something that _does_ make sense and I have to figure out another way to advance said plot – with or without Thing A. So I write forward, keep the action moving until I can’t make sense of it anymore, and then re-outline.

      In the case of Manuscript #2, I’m still figuring out the storytelling style/narrative voice. There are also many more complications in this story – each story will expand the world progressively, so I’ve got a lot of balls in the air to juggle.

      That’s not to say I couldn’t do what you’re suggesting – but at a certain point NOT having the narrative voice becomes prohibitive to writing further.

      July 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

  2. Marit Appeldoorn

    Excellent! This beta reader will try to get her act in gear and finish up the manuscript soon…

    July 22, 2011 at 5:35 am

    • Well, you’ve got a kid clamoring for attention and you’re not retired. And you’re not my mom. I think she’s got you on three counts, there.

      July 22, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

