Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Congratulations, Castigator

Last weekend, I had an epiphany as regards Manuscript #2. The storytelling was coming along quite well. I anticipated wrapping up the polish of act one on Tuesday or so, and figured, great, I can do one more polish while putting the epiphany in.

The epiphany: Kevin (main character) is not the emotional core of the story thus far. He’s the active, action-centered core. Holly is the current emotional core. Adjust in polish.

This is good. This is a good observation and it’s a good time to tackle this particular GIGANTIC note. So.

Congratulations to me.

Then I finished up my polish – on Wednesday, it’s true, but I still finished it up. A day off schedule? Not bad. Not bad at all.

Congratulations to me.

Yesterday I started up my final polish before I check in with some early readers. Word choice, sentence flow, find the bits that need re-writing on a larger scale. And, because it’s important, compare the timeline of events in Manuscript #2 with the timeline of events in A Watchful Eye, because I need to have this pretty clear. It’s only going to get harder.

Orange tags are chronology. Pink tags are foreshadowing I need to be keeping in mind and addressing a bit more directly (looks like something I’ve forgotten just now). Blue tags connect these pages (Manuscript #2) with A Watchful Eye. I’ve gone over these 30 pages four times in the past day.

Whose stupid idea was this?

Oh, yes.

Congratulations to me.

2 responses

  1. Congratulations to you!

    Also.

    Pro tip: people might not buy your book with all those orange papers sticking out. Just thought I’d give you a heads-up on that. You’re welcome.

    August 12, 2011 at 9:14 am

    • No worries! I’m sending this version with all the stickies only to agents so that they know I’m a hard worker.

      Apparently agents love to see how you work.

      August 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Leave a Reply

