Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Building Readership

I’m taking part in a blog-building campaign that runs through October. It’s organized by the fearless Rachael Harrie at Rach Writes. I haven’t done one of these before, so I expect it will mean a little bit more dramaturgy in content, in addition to the series I’m just starting.

She holds the occasional “challenges” – an example of which was the A-Z Challenge this past spring – one post per day titled and themed around sequential letters of the alphabet.

I’m a little leery of what this means in terms of work and the time it will take away from actually working on manuscripts, but I’m hoping that it will add some structure, discipline, and readership.

Off we go!

11 responses

  1. Oh, I forgot to say – all your theatre background and work sounds fascinating!

    September 4, 2011 at 7:39 pm

  2. Hey Kurt, I’m a fellow campaigner in the MG/YA group. It’s great to meet you!

    September 4, 2011 at 7:34 pm

  3. Hey! I’m Jesi and I’m in your MG/YA group! I’ve never done this campaign either, but I’ve wanted to since I saw the second one. It should a fun and prolly not too hard. Good luck, though!

    September 2, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  4. Heya Kurt, I’m just getting my head around the ‘what campaining involves’ bit -so essentially today is my round of quick hello’s, it’s nice to meet you and I think we are connected through G+ (I forget I’m on there sometimes!), well it’s noce to meet you and lets just see where this trail leads to…

    September 2, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  5. Hi Kurt! Good to meet you, and thanks for dropping by blog too. Yes, I run enidblyton.net and am webmaster for enidblytonsociety.co.uk (neither of which I have time for!).

    I’m not sure about the September 5th campaign date, as I’ll be at Dragon*Con in Atlanta…

    August 30, 2011 at 11:39 am

  6. Hi! I’m in your YA/MG group for the Campaigners!

    Nice to meet you!

    August 30, 2011 at 11:29 am

  7. Yes, Rach is fearless. Look at the work involved setting this up! Glad you came on board and thanks for the visit to the Write Game. Appreciated it.

    August 30, 2011 at 11:02 am

  8. Hi Kurt! The campaign is great! I did it last year and met so many awesome writers/bloggers. It’s a great way to connect, more than anything else…. with others who are serious about writing and pubbing.
    Great to meet you! Thanks for stopping by my blog… and see you on the campaign! :)

    August 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  9. Ok, so maybe if I checked the “biography” tab…sheesh

    August 29, 2011 at 4:26 pm

  10. I was leery too, but had to jump in because everyone else was. #bandwagoner Also, I really liked your description/bio on your old page – you should put it over here! Also, also, maybegenius is awesome. Just sayin’. :)

    August 29, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  11. Hello, fellow campaigner. I’ve never done one of these before. It’ll be interesting, I think.

    August 29, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Leave a Reply

