Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Second Campaigner Challenge

This isn’t “due” until October 3rd, but I don’t like things hanging over me. Here is the challenge as described by Rachael:

Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc. The blog post should:

  • include the word “imago” in the title
  • include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.

For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

So – the story.

———-

And Imago Was His Name-O

“Oscitate is to lacuna as what is to miasma?”

“What what?”

“Excuse me?”

“I don’t understand the question.”

Scary long caterpillar eyebrows wiggled over  horn-rimmed glasses at him. The eyebrows were not pleased. “It’s an analogy? You don’t pass the test, you don’t graduate.”

Dr. Eyebrows’ statement sounded more like a question that was really asking, “How did you make it this far?” or “What did I do to deserve this?”

“It’s just a study session.”

“Give me the correct word. Oscitate is to lacuna,” he pronounced, world weariness hanging on every syllable, “as what is to miasma.”

Kevin looked at his reflection, mirrored in the glasses. Eyebrows had never liked him. He thought Kevin was always cutting to smoke pot, which was his explanation for why Kevin always looked so dull in class, and he made no secret of his suspicions.

“They were on the worksheet,” Eyebrows emphasized. “You do know what oscitate means? Synchronicity?”

“Yeah, see, about that,” Kevin started, pushing all of the English teacher’s buttons, “no.”

Eyebrows’ face turned a pleasing shade of red – no, cinnabar. “Get out of my classroom.”

“You’re the boss.” He stopped at the door. “The answer is ‘fart.’”

“OUT!”

Bingo.

———

There’s a competition, so you can vote for this story here if you like it – and if you follow the link back to Rachael’s, you’ll also see all of the other entrants. Check out some other stories before casting your ballot. (You can vote multiple times, but don’t. Not cool, bro.)

35 responses

  1. I enjoyed the story especially the ‘tude of the boy. Great job.

    #189

    October 6, 2011 at 7:49 pm

  2. I loved it! “Eyebrows had never liked him” was my favorite. Good job!

    October 4, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  3. Very clever, well written, and fun.

    #188

    October 4, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  4. Glad to know I wasn’t the only person singing that song after reading Rachael’s post. (Imago was his name-o!) Hehe, what a hilarious entry. It sounded soooo much like me as a student. Except for that last bit. ;) I love how much character development you managed to squeeze in there, especially Eyebrows. Liking it.

    October 4, 2011 at 4:28 pm

  5. Hehehe, this was very cool. I liked it!

    October 2, 2011 at 10:38 pm

  6. I love your first scentence. To put those weird words in one line like this serves them right!
    And yes, it reminds me a bit of some blank looks I gave my teachers :)

    October 1, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  7. Catherine Johnson

    Brilliant! That totally reminds me of Uni where you would understand the question if it was written in normal English lol.

    September 29, 2011 at 1:26 pm

  8. Lol. This was funny and reminds me of the classroom.

    September 29, 2011 at 11:12 am

  9. Hah! Excellent…I think you captured the behaviour of my number 1 son perfectly in this story. How did you know?

    September 29, 2011 at 12:53 am

  10. Miranda Hardy

    Love the ending! Very clever. I’ll be thinking about that association all night now. Lol

    September 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  11. Thanks so much for all the feedback!

    September 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  12. LOL, I had a teacher like that. Great job with the challenge.

    September 28, 2011 at 5:08 pm

  13. Awesome! Definitely the best I’ve read so far!

    September 28, 2011 at 10:21 am

  14. Hilarious! Also, that was quite a bit of characterization for 200 words. Great job!

    September 27, 2011 at 8:33 am

  15. LOL! Wonderful! Humor, analogies, *and* eyebrows! You’ve got it all. ; )

    September 26, 2011 at 9:21 am

  16. Clever, great use of the words!

    September 26, 2011 at 8:11 am

  17. HA! That make me laugh. Good use of the words.

    September 25, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  18. I love this! Good to read some humour and also the situation is very believeable. Brilliant.

    September 25, 2011 at 2:07 pm

  19. Yucka-yucka! I love it when a story makes me laugh!

    The Write Soil

    Mine is #50.

    September 24, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  20. Christy Farmer

    The funniest part about this story is I would think most people have met these 2 people at some point in life. Nice job! :-)

    September 24, 2011 at 10:50 am

  21. Mel

    Nice. I especially like how he gives a correct answer as he leaves. Awesome!

    September 24, 2011 at 12:42 am

  22. Funny stuff. I especially like the caterpillar eyebrows. As someone who has to groom my eyebrows daily to avoid transforming into a monster, I sympathize with the poor English teacher – I’m pretty sure it’s those eyebrows that make him so surly.

    September 23, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  23. Loved your post! Love the way the eyebrow man is portrayed. I hate those kinds of questions, too. I’m #34.

    September 23, 2011 at 7:30 pm

  24. Hah! Got a nice little chuckle out of that one. Reminds me of a few teachers/classmates I had back in the day.

    September 23, 2011 at 3:06 pm

  25. Kids will be kids! The worst part? I sat there and thought in my head the whole time, “What could it be?” And fart’s pretty much the best thing it could be.

    Thanks for the great laugh and an awesome entry-read!

    September 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  26. Excellent. The title alone made me laugh, I really loved this one!

    September 23, 2011 at 11:49 am

  27. Oh how wonderfully perfect! Brought me back to my SAT days….I HATED those dreaded this is to that crap! I was NOT a walking dictionary! My vocabulary was not “refined” You nailed it! love it!

    September 23, 2011 at 9:51 am

  28. loved it!
    perfect scene!
    and the title, BINGO =)

    September 23, 2011 at 9:36 am

  29. Quirky! Loved ‘Doctor Eyebrows’.

    September 22, 2011 at 11:39 pm

  30. Some teachers are such a drag. nice job. Mine is #29

    September 22, 2011 at 10:44 pm

  31. Too funny! As a teacher, I absolutely hated that kid…as a mother of three sons…I think I may have raised that kid. Oy Vey! Great entry. I like that both players come out as winners at the end. Dr. Eyebrows has the final authority, but wisenheimer has an answer sure to please adolescent males (and probably made Dr. Eyebrows chuckle after he was safely assured that wisenheimer was enroute to office) Heh Heh. ~ Nadja

    September 22, 2011 at 10:36 pm

  32. Jen

    Funny! I think I was taught by Dr Eyebrows at school as well.
    Mine is #3.

    September 22, 2011 at 8:18 pm

  33. LOL Great use of the words!!! Made me laugh.

    September 22, 2011 at 7:42 pm

  34. This has to be the funniest entry I’ve read yet. Hilarious! Brings me back to the gory day, err, GLORY days of English classes. Loved your characters and his simplistic answer.

    Great job, Kurt! :)

    September 22, 2011 at 6:23 pm

  35. Haha! Very spunky, great job. :)

    September 22, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

