Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

More Writing and Blogging

I’m participating in two more blogfests in October, which could be madness.

One is Sommer Leigh’s MonsterFest 2011, which seems to be a create-your-own bestiary kind of thing. There’s a calendar at the link identifying who is writing about what and when. I’m up on October 9 with the ouroboros and October 25 with the sphinx. Be sure to visit the other beasts from other writers, too!

The next is a shared world scenario, three posts of 500 words or so each, in the Rule of Three. I don’t expect to be using any of my WIPs for this, but I will probably try to work with the overlapping timelines. Good practice.

The last challenge for Rachael Harrie’s Campaigner fest is coming up this month as well – that’s the flash fiction I’ve been using. The character of Kevin is the central one in Effigy and Jack (from the first story) is the primary antagonist for the bulk of the series. “Eyebrows” (from the second story) may not ever show up.

I’m also going to try and keep up with regular posts on structure to keep developing that idea, write the odd review or two, and increase some character studies (a la Latter Day Punk).

In other writing, I knocked out another chapter of Effigy in the past two weeks, and starting tomorrow I’m back on The House of Clicquot, which I think I can wrap up by the weekend, first draft style. Which means next week is Effigy again.

And after a summer of eating out more than we’re used to, Lisa and I are talking a good game about Eating Right and Exercising.

Let’s see how this all shakes out. Seems a wee bit ambitious.

3 responses

  1. Ron’s been talking vegan, a’la Neal Barnard. I won’t give up on meat, but a few vegetarian days a week can’t hurt.

    October 3, 2011 at 12:35 am

    • I don’t know Neal Barnard, but I’ve got some pretty hefty philosophical issues with veganism. Not vegetarianism, though. Fortunately for me, my past nutritionist and current one both say I need meat. Full speed ahead.

      October 3, 2011 at 7:44 am

  2. Welcome to the Rule of Three and the world of Renaissance.

    Just remember: you’ll also have a fourth posting where you tie up the story from the other three postings.

    Any questions, just let us know

    Stuart
    Tale Spinning
    The Rule of Three Blogfest

    October 2, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

