Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Re-Organizing

I am sorry to see the close of Rachael Harrie’s Campaign Builder, Sommer Leigh‘s month of Monstrology, and the Rule of 3 (hosted by 4, but who’s counting), but at the same time it’s been a busy busy month and it’ll be good to hunker down and get back to fiction writing. Besides, there’s always updating the Occupy Writers website and working with dedicated volunteers if I need something else to eat up a lot of time.

Two weeks ago I wrapped up the first draft of The House of Clicquot and got preliminary feedback from Lisa (aka “Beta Reader number Alpha”), which I can sum up as “Too much secrecy makes it too confusing. Simplify and introduce some of the major characters in their original guises earlier.”

Messy

Then last week I got stuck on A Living Effigy. I’ve brought Kevin (MC) up to the beginning of my “present-day” events when all of the characters begin to overlap, but I wasn’t sure how to take it forward after that. Too much was riding on what Jill was or wasn’t doing. My solution is to set Kevin aside and to pick up A Box of Ink and get to work on that with a greater degree of outlining and organization. So far so good, I’m about 6,000 words in mid-way through chapter 4.

Every time I think I’ve got my process figured out for how I’m going to move forward with these books, I prove myself wrong and approach it again. All of that work with the index cards has not been for nothing, though. I know where the story is going. I just have to get it there.

——

In addition to being Halloween, Monday should be the beginning of the new fairy tale series, which will start with Prince Ivan at the beginning of his adventures. I may run it a bit Sheherezade style, where I shift protagonist or open up a story-within-a-story. Still playing with ideas.

Good weekend!

2 responses

  1. I feel like everyone’s just abandoned all the blogfests now that we’ve reached the end. I hope to do more next year, like the A-Z challenge, at least. Looking forward to reading your fairy tale series.

    October 28, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  2. Lots going on with your stories.

    Also sounds like great feedback from your beta reader(s).

    Have a wonderful weekend and an awesome time getting things organized with your stories.

    October 28, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

