Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Today I Held a Hummingbird

Hummingbird feeders

What rain?

We are babysitting our own dog this weekend at Coyote Gulch (the new name of Elysium Fields) as my in-laws are visiting other children in Alaska. She is well, as are the cats, and miraculously, no one hunts the swarms of hummingbirds that cluster around the feeders that my mother-in-law keeps. You can’t see the rain in the photo above, but it’s been raining all weekend, which is a change from the rest of the summer in the rest of the United States. The birds are still hungry.

Somehow this one found its way between the screen and the glass of the garage window.

Trapped Hummingbird

*Not So Smart*

Both of the window sashes wanted to fall and not stay up, so I found a big cooler to stand on and got high enough that the hummingbird was able to fly up once I had pushed the screen out. Of course, then it wanted to fly through the screen and back to its buddies at the feeder. Fortunately for both of us, it was neither smart nor aggressive and let me trap it with both hands against the screen.

I cupped them loosely and for the first five seconds it flitted about in my palms and then it stopped. Outside of the garage, I cracked my hands apart to see the iridescent green on its back. As I rounded the corner to the feeders, I held the one hand with the bird out. At first it didn’t move and I thought it might have given itself a heart attack. Then it vanished from my hand and buzzed away, not in the direction of the feeders to our left, but far away to the right where the giant could no longer hold it captive.

Happy Labor Day. Don’t work if you can help it.

4 responses

  1. Susan

    NIce story. I watched an interesting documentary on hummingbirds last year. Amazing creatures. Glad you could save one. Have a wonderful holiday!

    September 3, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    • Do you remember what it was called?

      September 3, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      • Susan

        Not off hand. Besides seeing an amazing range of hummingbirds. Part of it was about catching the birds and banding them to track their travel distance. Which I am not a fan of seeing these beautiful little birds having a metal band on their leg. Seemed like it would throw off their inner balance. I wonder if anyone every studied that? But also it is important not to use Sugar water (which is a common practice in US). I can’t recall what they suggested to feed them with but it is an easy find.

        Medicine Cards: Hummingbird
        http://scottfoglesong.printandwebdesign.com/44-hummer.pdf

        September 3, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

