Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

Non-Fairy Tale Writing and Fairy Tale Writing

Some day I’ll get into what I call my serializing a “fairy tale” (which it isn’t) but tag it as “folk tale” (which it is), but that day is not today.

I accidentally had two installments posted for today. Not the first time I’ve done that and it’s only a problem in that I’m going to be traveling in October and I was really hoping not to have any down time. A double-post-day means one less day that I have banked against travel and intermittent Internet.

I’ve laid off working on the next set of installments because I’ve been focused on getting through my latest WIP, the first draft of which I wrapped up this afternoon at around 96k words. It needs a lot of work (thus: first draft), but the fact that it’s done and that I have time to wrestle with it before traveling? Pretty fantastic.

The story has nothing to do with any of the projects I’ve got listed under Prose, which are all part of a series. This is a stand-alone story about a girl who wakes up in a horrible world and who’s only friend is the parasitic Made Up Girl, who looks exactly like the main character, minus all of the plastic quills sticking out of her skin like a porcupine.

Excerpt

Leave a Reply

