Self-aware. Self conscious. Self induced.

#PitchWars Mentee Bio

This site doesn’t get a whole lot of work these days. I’m in the middle of moving (GAH!) and trying to learn new software (Adobe Illustrator, my old nemesis. We meet again.) and and and… Then again, who doesn’t have their attention pulled twelve different ways? I’ve been reading through the mentee bios so far posted on Christopher Keelty’s site and I’m floored and blown away in equal measure at the number of parents who are writing and on top of their jobs and on top of their writing.

That being said, I have no kids but I do have a dog. Though until we get all of our moving sorted out, the dog is in one state, my wife is another, and I am in a third. None of us are thrilled with this state of affairs, but soon enough we’ll be able to move in and then we can all reunite under one roof and it’ll be fabulous.

When our dog looked like the TinyBear that we call her now.

When our dog looked like the TinyBear that we call her now.

Aside from facts that you can glean in the Biography tab in the menu bar above, here are other random bits:

  • I speak Czech and Spanish.
  • I am the only member of my family who doesn’t speak Swahili.
  • I’ve been writing and/or dreaming of writing since I was 6.
  • Someday I would like to own a (domesticated) cat big enough that it scares people.

This is the third time I’ve submitted material to #PitchWars – the first time was in 2012 when my manuscript The Sovereign Palace was selected by Michelle Painchaud (whose debut novel Pretending to Be Erica just came out. I’ve read it. It’s great. Buy it or get from the library, but read it one way or another). I got 3 requests and no offers, but regardless of that outcome, I made some wonderful connections with other writers, something I’m hoping to repeat this time around.

This manuscript is an MG adventure. There’s a shoddy query letter in a post below – part of me seriously wants to delete that post because UGH the query but part of me feels like the drafting and learning process is well-represented, and that part of me is aided by the lazy part of me.

Which is not to say that I am a lazy writer or even a lazy deleter. If you pick me as a mentee, I will work HARD. As an example, I completely gutted and re-wrote my opening five chapters just a few months ago. If the work needs doing, I will do it.

Speaking of not being lazy, I am currently house-and-pet sitting, which involved dogs (of course), cats (of course), and chickens. Which are cranky and annoying and don’t want to go to bed. CHICKENS! WHO KNEW?

Obviously, many, many people. I was not amongst their number before now.

Be sure to check the #pimpmybio tag on Twitter and Christopher Keelty’s page for more bios. It’s an amazing group of people – somehow made possible year after year by the phenomenal Brenda Drake. Buy her book, too! Well, pre-order, but you get the idea.

4 responses

  1. graysea

    I just moved, too, and learned that apparently seagulls don’t go to sleep either. (Though I’ve heard they fly away come September.)

    August 21, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    • where’d y’all move to?

      August 21, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  2. You’re chicken-sitting! That’s awesome :) (I got four hours of sleep last night because my rooster decided to crow in the middle of the night, so I totally feel you on the cranky chickens not wanting to sleep)

    August 17, 2015 at 10:00 am

    • The chicken house also comes with a meowly cat. And I’m doing double duty at a house with 3 small dogs. MADNESS.

      August 17, 2015 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

